The UniversityDirectoriesMapsFacultiesMY UMinfo
Return to Calendar Home
Search for Courses
Calendar Glossary

UofM Registration Guide

The University of Manitoba

As Manitoba's largest post-secondary institution, the only one that is research-intensive, and the only one that offers medical and doctoral degrees, the University of Manitoba plays an unrivaled role in contributing to the vitality of this province. It educates the majority of the province's professionals - whether they be nurses, architects, lawyers, pharmacists, teachers, engineers, dentists, or doctors. It also educates most of the province's community, political and business leaders.

More than 23,000 students, and 4,500 teaching and support staff combine to make the University of Manitoba a vibrant community committed to teaching, learning, and the search for new knowledge.

The location of the Fort Garry campus, nestled inside a loop of the Red River, is a unique setting where most of the university's faculties and schools are located. There is also the Bannatyne Campus, adjacent to the Health Sciences Centre in central Winnipeg, where the faculties of Dentistry and Medicine are located. Other places where the University of Manitoba is visible include the Winnipeg Education Centre, the location for social work education for inner city residents; agricultural research farms at Glenlea and Carman; field stations at Delta Marsh on Lake Manitoba, Star Lake in the Whiteshell, and Wallace Lake in eastern Manitoba. In addition, a number of distance education programs provide a province-wide presence for the university throughout Manitoba.

The University of Manitoba is a coeducational, nondenominational, government-supported institution. It is a member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities and of the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada.

The University of Manitoba was established in 1877 to confer degrees on students graduating from its three founding colleges: St. Boniface College, St. John's College, and Manitoba College. It was the first university to be established in western Canada.

In 1900 the Manitoba legislature amended the University of Manitoba Act so that it could begin teaching in its own right. In 1904 a building in downtown Winnipeg became the first teaching facility with a staff of six professors, all scientists. The U of M moved to its present permanent location in Fort Garry following the transfer of the Manitoba Agricultural College to the university.

In its early years the University of Manitoba expanded through the addition of colleges to its corporate and associative body. In 1882 the Manitoba Medical College, originally founded by physicians and surgeons in the province, became a part of the university. Other affiliations followed: the Methodist church's Wesley College joined in 1888; the Manitoba College of Pharmacy in 1902; the Manitoba Agricultural College in 1906; St. Paul's College in 1931; and Brandon College in 1938. St. Andrew's College, initially an associated college in 1964, became an affiliated college in 1981.

In 1967 two of the colleges of the University of Manitoba were given university status by the provincial government. United College, which was formed by the merging of Wesley College and Manitoba College, became the University of Winnipeg, and Brandon College became Brandon University.

St. Boniface College, now called Collège universitaire de Saint-Boniface, and St. John's College, two of the original founding colleges, are still part of the University of Manitoba.

St. Boniface, a Roman Catholic institution which traces its beginnings to 1818 and the earliest days of the Red River settlement, is the university's only French-speaking college.

St. John's College, which dates to 1820 and was founded by the Anglican church, is situated on the Fort Garry campus and is committed to fostering a sense of community and belonging among its faculty, students and staff.

St. Paul's College was founded in 1926 by the Archdiocese of Winnipeg and became part of the University of Manitoba in 1931. In 1933 the Jesuit order assumed responsibility for the college and organized the college's academic program in accordance with its internationally recognized educational principles. The college moved into its Fort Garry Campus premises in 1958.

St. Andrew's College was established in 1946 by the Ukrainian Orthodox Church of Canada and moved to the Fort Garry Campus in 1964. It offers programs in Ukrainian Canadian heritage studies and, in addition, prepares candidates for the ordained ministry and lay leadership in the Ukrainian Orthodox church and other Orthodox churches.

  University of Manitoba   Information on receiving a printed copy of the Calendar &
Registration Guide.

University of Manitoba
Winnipeg, MB, Canada R3T 2N2, 204.474.8880
Questions or Comments?